Short Stories
Where the bee sucks (1995). In: (eds) Jones RG, Williams AS. The Penguin Book of Erotic Stories by Women. London: Penguin Books, pp.384-397.
Death in the egg (1995). In: (eds) Williams AS, Jones RG. The Penguin Book of Modern Fantasy by Women. London: Penguin Bookspp.525-532.


Overheads (1999) London: HarperCollins. Extract.

‘a funny, useful and thoroughly demystifying book about academic life’ (Glasgow Sunday Herald).
Read Ann Oakley on Overheads in the Times Higher Education.

A Proper Holiday (1996). London: HarperCollins. Extract.

‘excellent holiday reading’ (The Mail on Sunday).

Scenes Originating in the Garden of Eden. (1993) London: HarperCollins. Extract.

‘A rural romp which could make you glad to live in town’ (Northern Echo).

The Secret Lives of Eleanor Jenkinson (1992). London: HarperCollins. Extract.

‘an intelligent, honest exploration of women and women’s writing’ (The Oxford Times).

Matilda’s Mistake (1991). London: Virago. HarperCollins paperback, 1991. Extract.

‘can’t wait for a BBC2 serialisation’ (Time Out).

Only Angels Forget (1990). (under the name Rosamund Clay). London: Virago.

‘sometimes funny, sometimes wrenching’ (Company).

The Men’s Room (1988). London: Virago. HarperCollins paperback 1989; New York: Atheneum, 1989. Extract.

‘Oakley uses her sociologist’s eye with devastating effect’ (The Sunday Times).